Tuesday, July 4, 2017


House of Representatives
13th District (Oakland-Berkeley-Alameda-San Leandro)
*Barbara Lee-D, congressmember

15th District (Hayward-Fremont-Tri Valley)
*Eric Swalwell-D, congressmember

17th District (Fremont-San Jose-Cupertino)
➠Filed Intent
Ron Cohen-R, certified public accountant
*Ro Khanna-D, congressmember
Khahn Tran-D, Alum Rock school board member

State Assembly
15th District (North Oakland-Berkeley)
➠Filed Intent
Judy Appel, Berkeley school board member
Jovanka Beckles-D, Richmond councilmember
Dan Kalb-D, Oakland councilmember
Andy Katz-D, EBMUD board director
Buffy Wicks-D, political consultant
➠Showing Interest
Ben Bartlett, Berkeley councilmember
Dianne Martinez, Emeryville mayor
Jean Quan, former Oakland mayor

16th District (Tri-Valley)
*Catharine Baker-R, assemblymember

18th Assembly (Oakland-Alameda-San Leandro)
➠Filed Intent
James Aguilar-D, San Lorenzo USD student board member
*Rob Bonta-D, assemblymember

20th District (Hayward-Tri Cities-Fremont)
*Bill Quirk-D, assemblymember

25th District (Fremont-Milpitas-San Jose)
*Kansen Chu-D, assemblymember

State Senate
10th District (Hayward-Castro Valley-Fremont)
*Bob Wieckowski-D, state senator

Alameda County
Alameda County Board of Supervisors
District 3
*Wilma Chan, supervisor, Alameda County

District 5
*Keith Carson, supervisor, Alameda County

Treasurer-Tax Collector
Henry Levy, appointed treasurer-tax collector, Alameda County

Alameda County District Attorney
➠Filed Intent
*Nancy O'Malley, district attorney, Alameda County
Pamela Price, attorney

Alameda County Sheriff
*Gregory Ahern, sheriff, Alameda County

AC Transit Board of Directors
Ward 3 (Alameda-Oakland-San Leandro)
*Elsa Ortiz, board director, AC Transit

Ward 4 (San Leandro-Unincorporated ALCO-Hayward)
*Mark Williams, board director, AC Transit

Ward 5 (Hayward-Newark-Fremont)
*Jeff Davis, board director, AC Transit

*Joel Young, board director, AC Transit

BART Board of Directors
District 4 (Oakland-Alameda)
*Robert Raburn, board director, BART

District 6 (Hayward-Tri-Cities)
*Thomas Blalock, board director, BART

Chabot-Las Positas Community College District
Area 2
*Isobel Dvorsky, trustee, CLPCCD

East Bay Municipal Utilities District
Ward 3 (Piedmont, Orinda, El Sobrante, portions of Oakland, Richmond, Pinole)
*Marguerite Young, director, EBMUD Board of Directors

East Bay Regional Park District
Ward 5
*Ayn Wieskamp, board director, EBRPD

Oro Loma Sanitary District (Choose 3)
*Timothy Becker, board director, Oro Loma
*Rita Duncan, board director, Oro Loma
*Shelia Young, board director, Oro Loma

Peralta Community College District Trustee
Area 5
*Bill Riley, trustee, Peralta Community College District

Area 7 (Emeryville, parts of Oakland, Berkeley)
*Julina Bonilla, trustee, Perata Community College District

Superintendent of Schools
*Karen Monroe, superintendent Alameda County

*Trish Spencer, mayor, Alameda
➠Showing Interest
Marilyn Ezzy Ashcraft, councilmember, Alameda
Frank Matarrese, councilmember, Alameda

City Council (Choose 2)
Tony Daysog, former councilmember, Alameda
*Frank Matarrese, councilmember, Alameda
*Jim Oddie, councilmember, Alameda
➠Showing Interest
David Mitchell, planning board member, Alameda

School Board (Choose 2)
*Gary Lym, school board member, AUSD
Anne McKereghan, appointed school board member, AUSD

Alameda Heatlhcare District Board of Directors (Choose 4)
Gayle Godfrey Codiga, appointed board director
*Robert Deutsch, board director
*Tracy Jensen, board director
Dennis Popalardo, appointed board member

City Council
District 1
*Linda Maio, councilmember, Berkeley

District 4
*Kate Harrison, councilmember, Berkeley

District 7
*Kriss Worthington, councilmember, Berkeley

District 8
*Lori Droste, councilmember, Berkeley

School Board (Choose 3)
*Ty Alper, school board member, BUSD
*Josh Daniels, school board director, BUSD
*Karen Hemphill, school board director, BUSD

Castro Valley
School Board (Choose 2)
*Gary Howard, board member, CVUSD
*Dot Theodore, board member, CVUSD

Castro Valley Sanitary District (Choose 2)
*Melody Appleton, appointed director, CVSD
*Ralph Johnson, board member, CVSD

City Council
District 1
Open--Newly created district

District 2
*Rick Jones, councilmember, Fremont

District 3
David Bonaccorsi, appointed councilmember, Fremont

District 4
Open--newly created district

School Board (Choose 2)
*Yang Shao, board member, Fremont
*Larry Sweeney, board member, Fremont

*Barbara Halliday, mayor, Hayward

City Council (Choose 2)
*Sara Lamnin, councilmember, Hayward
*Marvin Peixoto, councilmember, Hayward

School Board (Choose 2)
*Lisa Brunner, governing board member, HUSD
*William McGee, governing board member, HUSD

➠Filed Intent
*Libby Schaaf, mayor, Oakland
➠Showing Interest
Ken Houston, contractor

City Council
District 2
*Abel Guillén, councilmember, Oakland

District 4
*Anne Campbell Washington, councilmember, Oakland

District 6
*Desley Brooks, councilmember, Oakland

School Board
District 2
*Aimee Eng, school board member, Oakland

District 4
*Nina Senn, school board member, Oakland

District 6
*Shanthi Gonzales, school board member, Oakland

City Auditor
*Brenda Roberts, city auditor, Oakland

San Leandro
*Pauline Cutter, mayor, San Leandro
➠Showing Interest
Benny Lee, councilmember, San Leandro

City Council
District 1
*Deborah Cox, councilmember, San Leandro

District 3
➠Filed Intent
Victor Aguilar, Jr., school board member, SLUSD
*Lee Thomas, councilmember, San Leandro

District 5
*Cornia Lopez, councilmember, San Leandro

School Board
*Monique Tate, school board member, SLUSD

Area 4
*Leo Sheridan, school board member, SLUSD

San Lorenzo
School Board (Choose 2)
Samuel Medina, appointed board member, SLZUSD
*Janet Zamudio, board member SLZUSD

NPP-No Party Preference
PF-Peace and Freedom Party
G-Green Party


  1. For Ac Transit race, Mark Williams, and Joel Young should step aside. I have no idea what either one have accomplished while on the Ac Transit board. Oakland Mayors race: Libby is holding most of the cards; will win, barring unforeseen circumstances. 18th Assembly Bonta by the usual landslide, all members of Oakland City Council will be reelected (as always). Alsmeda District Attorney race, O'Malley, although not the greatest win be reelected over Pamela Price (who would be far worse, and running on ego). I see no major shake ups for 2018: business as usual

  2. Possible candidate, Igor Tregub for Ac Transit seat at Large

  3. Ken Houston would be wasting time and money if he runs for Mayor of Oakland

  4. Rutherfraud P Hayes has filed spears to run for Peralta Board

  5. James Aguilar has filed intent and 470 campaign statement to run for San Leandro School Board, Area 6. He is listed in here as intended to run for State Assembly; he withdrew former intent for AD 18 this month. Bryan Azevedo is not listed under Area 4.